Help The Librarian Find You (Google Search Optimization)

Google is the greatest Librarian in the world. It can help you find the information you need from any of its resources at the click of a button. How is this librarian so effective and what are its secrets? With so much information to choose from, how I can I make sure it picks mine to share with the world?

There are 3 ways it delivers it’s answers to the searchers. In the article, “How Google Search Works” by Google it says.

“Crawling: Does Google know about your site? Can we find it? Indexing: Can Google index your site? Serving: Does the site have good and useful content that is relevant to the users search? See full article for more details.

https://support.google.com/webmasters/answer/

So you now know the librarians secrets, how do you make sure it picks you? I picked 5 ways out of the suggestions given from various articles on-line.

I will improve the content of my site. I need to add relevance and uniqueness to my blog. I need to make it so people want to share what I have made, providing useful tips and information. The more my page is shared or linked to other sites, the more the Librarian is watching me.
I will Pin, Facebook, Tweet and Instagram my work. One of my colleagues in my class suggested a workflow from after the photo shoot. It involved blogging and sharing on all social media so that again, I am more visible to the librarian. I also need to make sure in my website, the work is pinnable by those who visit it.
I will add links to credible sites from my website. Knowing that I am not the expert in all things, I will link to great articles and ideas. I will make sure these links open in a new window, so that those who were on my site can stay with me.
I will change the headings to match the keywords that are used to search for my site. I will also change the URLS so that they have keyword embedded in them so the Librarian can find them easily.
I will make sure that my site is crawler/bot accessible. If my page is down I will use a status code 503 or use 301 for a permanent redirect. If I have gone to all of the trouble to make my site found, I need to allow the crawlers who are searching in to find me. Geoff Kenyon’s wrote a great article “Technical Audit Checklist” which explains how to make this happen. http://moz.com/blog/how-to-do-a-site-audit
Making sure you are on top of your search engine success is an ongoing process and using Google Analytics as a tool, you can see where you are succeeding or failing in your attempts.

Leave a comment